SHARE
Photo Credit: Dale Garvey

I’ve had two situations come up over the years that left me wondering whom to protect — batter or catcher? Having a firm grasp on whom to protect will allow you to make the calls and explain to questioning coaches.

Protecting the catcher

A lefthanded batter was up with two strikes. As the pitch came in, the batter semi-slapped late and hit the catcher’s glove as the ball was about to enter the glove. I called “dead ball” and the third-base coach immediately yelled, “The bat hit the glove.” All I could do was agree and she replied, “That’s obstruction.”

I gathered the crew to confirm that they heard the bat hit the glove and that it was catcher obstruction. I felt the contact was unusually late and didn’t warrant an obstruction call. I ruled strike three and received what I considered a mild complaint.

Later that night after making some calls and doing some research, I found an explanation that I now have in my toolbox. The batter is protected as the ball comes in and she is swinging. The catcher is protected after the ball crosses the plate or the batter swings. I should have called batter interference. I personally think the batter is taught to do that to prevent a strikeout and also to draw a catcher obstruction call and be awarded first base.

Free Guides Interrupter – 18 Tips For Beginning Officials (640px x 165px)

Protecting the catcher II

A righthanded batter started every pitch of each at bat turned with the bat over the plate. She would then bring her bat back and either take the pitch or swing. There were no problems until her third at-bat with two strikes. She brought the bat back late on what I was judging to be a strike and hit the catcher’s glove. The ball didn’t touch the bat and was caught by the catcher. Again, catcher obstruction jumped into my head until I had a moment to reflect. I called, “Dead ball, batter out on interference.”

Right-handed batters often start turned with the bat out for usually one of three reasons: The first is to cover a steal. They are taught to bring the bat back hopefully blocking the catcher’s view of the pitch and late to hinder the catcher’s chance at throwing out the runner. Some bring the bat back in an unnatural path and if it contacts the catcher’s glove, that should be ruled interference. The second is for a timing device, especially against a slower pitcher, or to guard against a change-up. The third is to try and draw the infield in and then pull back and hit.

However, some batters move far up in the box and catchers are taught to move up with them. The rules say the catcher is restricted to the catcher’s box until the pitch is released unless the batter is in front of the batter’s box and then the catcher may move up out of their box. Some catchers push way up and catch the ball over the plate.

Can you judge if the ball really reaches the plate before being caught in some of these cases?

Protecting the batter

Then there is the situation with a right-handed batter hitting or bunting the ball in front of the plate and, as the batter is going to first and the catcher comes out to play the ball, there is a collision.

The casebook states the runner has a right to run to first and the catcher has a right to field the ball. The plate umpire must rule if the batter did anything out of the normal to interfere or if the catcher did anything unnatural to obstruct.

Sports-Softball Interrupter – Softball Mechanics Illustrated (640px x 165px)

Sometimes it is best to give a “safe” signal and call nothing as both players were acting accordingly, much like a first baseman coming off the bag to catch an errant throw and colliding with the batter-runner.

The batter and the catcher always start every pitch in close proximity. Use good judgment and make a clear ruling when there is contact between the two and be ready to explain your call to whomever doesn’t benefit from your call.

What's Your Call? Leave a Comment:

comments

Sports-Basketball Interrupter – Referee Clothing (640px x 165px)


Note: This article is archival in nature. Rules, interpretations, mechanics, philosophies and other information may or may not be correct for the current year.

This article is the copyright of ©Referee Enterprises, Inc., and may not be republished in whole or in part online, in print or in any capacity without expressed written permission from Referee. The article is made available for educational use by individuals.