Ordinarily, penalties for roughing the passer are enforced from the dead-ball spot (NFHS) or end of the run (NCAA). But not if a change of possession occurs during the down.
In the MechaniGram, A1 is roughed as A2 catches the pass. But A2 fumbles and prone B3 recovers. As a result, the 15-yard penalty is enforced from the previous spot and team A is awarded a new series.

The enforcement would be the same if the pass was incomplete or if the last run ended behind the line of scrimmage. The codes agree (NFHS 9-4-4, 10-5-5; NCAA 9-1-9).

What's Your Call? Leave a Comment:


General Advertisement – (Secondary Pages)
Sports-Football Interrupter – Intentional Grounding & Other Illegal Passes (640px x 150px)

Note: This article is archival in nature. Rules, interpretations, mechanics, philosophies and other information may or may not be correct for the current year.

This article is the copyright of ©Referee Enterprises, Inc., and may not be republished in whole or in part online, in print or in any capacity without expressed written permission from Referee. The article is made available for educational use by individuals.

Previous article‘I’m Still Here’
Next articleSouthpaw Catcher Surprise
Referee, the world’s original sports officiating magazine, educates, challenges and inspires officials at all levels.