nder NFHS rule 6-5-6, team R has three options if team K commits kick catching interference: the result of the play, an awarded fair catch after enforcement of a 15-yard penalty from the spot of the foul, or a 15-yard penalty from the previous spot and a replay of the down (as seen in the MechaniGram).
The first option would only be chosen if team R advanced the ball farther than the penalty. The second serves as a remedy for a short return or a muff or fumble recovered by team K. It also allows for team R to attempt a free kick if the penalty moves the ball close enough to team K’s goalline for a field goal attempt.
Why would team R choose the latter enforcement? If team K is punting from deep in its own territory, team R may put on a heavy rush in an attempt to block the kick or hope for a bad snap resulting in a loose ball it could recover. There is also the possibility of a shanked kick that would improve team R’s field position.
In NCAA rules, the only enforcement is 15 yards from the spot of the foul (6-4-1 Pen.)
What's Your Call? Leave a Comment:
Note: This article is archival in nature. Rules, interpretations, mechanics, philosophies and other information may or may not be correct for the current year.
This article is the copyright of ©Referee Enterprises, Inc., and may not be republished in whole or in part online, in print or in any capacity without expressed written permission from Referee. The article is made available for educational use by individuals.